The world in a handkerchief

I had the world in a handkerchief
And blew my nose in it
Cloth and snot and tucked away
In a pocket by my heart
I sat down on the pavement
My hands cupping my head
Right next to the mailbox
By the cracked asphalt street
I waited for the postman
To come on down the road
To give me that old letter
The one you wrote to me
From someplace on a distant star
Twinkling in my sky
Or an island lost somewhere at sea
Where the wind is very hot
The warm waves wash your face with salt
The sand on your bare back
Your eyes refracted in the sky's
A setting sun to me
Perhaps you sent a message
In a bottle out to me
Threw it in the water
Almost hoped that I would see
I'll find it floating by some day
In the beck that trickles by here
Down into the draingrate
By the pavement where I sit
 
Or maybe you kissed your handkerchief
And tucked it in a flask
Dropped it down some wisher's well
I told me not to ask
That handkerchief was monogrammed
With the letters "E"and "C"
It waved goodbye to many things
Held firmly in my hand
The beck ran dry, the postman came
With nothing now but bills
I wiped my eyes with my handkerchief
And tucked it in my heart
 
I gave you the world in a handkerchief
You laughed and hugged and kissed me
Said "Oh, my lovely, silly, dear,
That thing inside the handkefchief
Is just a blot of snot"

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0